Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Operational remote sensing services in India were initiated with the launch and commissioning of IRS-1A, the first operational Indian Remote Sensing (IRS) Satellite, in the year 1988. From the earlier General Purpose Satellites like IRS-1A, 1B, 1C and 1D, ISRO moved to thematic series of satellites in 2003. Currently, ISRO has Resourcesat, Cartosat, Oceansat and Risat series of satellites.